The 4 Weeker: 4 semaines 4 provinces

Les Statistiques:

  • Time on the go: 4 weeks
  • Distance biked: 1700 Km
  • Tournaments played in: 2
  • Ultimate league/practice/scrimmages attended: 8
  • Nights spent in a tent: 7
  • Money spent: $1050
  • Weigh in: 179 lbs
  • Number of times someone has asked me where I am biking to next: 10000
Week 3 and 4: Fredericton to Ottawa

Week 3 and 4: Fredericton to Ottawa

I guess both languages were hit in this leg of the trip so I will try and do them both justice in the most unconfusing way possible. Donc on y va en français et anglais.

Mon look apres le frisbee a Quebec

Mon look après le frisbee a Québec

Mes hôtes à Québec, Déb et Charles-André, travaillent dans l’industrie alimentaire donc lundi matin tout le monde s’est levé tot et j’étais sur la route vers 6h30. Ce n’était pas un matin facile à cause que le dimanche on avait joué deux games de frisbee dans une ligue d’interior à Québec, malheureusement on avait perdu les deux. Il faisait beau dehors et après la deuxième game l’équipe s’est installé pour prendre quelques bières et de la pizza sur le patio de Janelle. On a quitté la maison de Janelle dimanche soir avec des bières pour la route installées dans nos bouteilles d’eau et c’était une belle ride dans la nuit à Québec avec de la bière. Sur le retour Charles-André m’a montré le chemin pour quitter la ville le lendemain. Encore une fois un gros merci à Charles-André et Déb, leur générosité était incroyable.

Le pont a Trois-Rivieres

Le pont a Trois-Rivieres

Trois-Rivières était mon objectif pour le lundi et malgré les efforts de plusieurs je n’ai pas trouvé du frisbee à jouer lundi soir. Surtout il faut remercier Isabelle qui m’a invité chez elle à Shawinigan avec même une offre de transportation en char. Quand je suis arrivé à Trois-Rivières en bonne heure j’ai décidé de continuer pour me rendre plus proche à Montréal. J’ai pris une photo du pont à 3R où juste à côté il y a le motel coconut et tout le monde qui a joué dans la série CQU4 à 3R connaît le Coconut.

Le lever du soliel a mon site de camping

Le lever du soliel a mon site de camping

My decision to push past Trois-Rivières only got me so far and I ended up in what I hope will be my worst camping site of the trip. Surrounded by farmers fields that gave off the scent of manure the only redeeming quality was the sunrise I got to see. Things do seem to be getting warmer and I had no difficulty with the cold that night, I even wore some cotton to bed.

Un petit pause sur le fleuve

Un petit pause sur le fleuve

Pushing into Montréal was a real grind and a light headwind knocked down my speed a couple of notches. Fighting out the wind I managed to arrive just in time for rush hour traffic, which in Montreal takes on a whole different meaning. I took some cues from some dress wearing locals on bixis who went by me weaving in and out of traffic; I am not ashamed to say that they passed me. Finally I landed on the comforting couch of Tyler and Caitlin, two friends who I know from the Odyssey language assistant program, not to be confused with the ultimate team. Cereal, pizza, playoff hockey, and beer were on the menu and it was just what I needed, some serious couch time.

Ça semble que l’été a frappé Montréal le moment où je suis arrivé. Charles-André m’a mis en contact avec un gars, Nic, de l’équipe Odyssey qui m’a invité à jouer avec les gars de l’Odyssey le mercredi soir. Le mixte powerhouse, était en train de pratiquer quand je suis arrivé sur le terrain. Ils ont vraiment une équipe forte à Montréal et c’était un plaisir de jouer avec eux. On a joué un peu d’Open contre Mephisto et c’était une belle game sur le turf artificiel à UdeM.

Montreal is a fantastic city and particularly getting to see the summer in take off mode was something special as my little strolls around the city showed people out enjoying the beautiful weather. Tyler and Caitlin were just the right kind of hosts for me. They left me to my own devices for the most part and Caitlin made an amazing stir-fry dinner with one of the best chocolate cakes I have ever had for dessert.

There is about 200Km of road seperating Montréal and Ottawa and with the promise of good weather I set off with my first companion of the trip who would be staying on the road with me for more than just one day. Dave and I met as part of the Canada World Youth program, we were in different groups but participated in the same exchange with Bénin.

Dave and I left Montréal early Friday morning metting in front of a high school in Northern Montréal. We glided through Oka park and stopped for breakfast 50Km from our departure point. The weather could not have been better with a tail wind, blue skies, and warm temperatures. We sailed along my final stretch of Québec crossing the Ottawa River at Hawkesbury where we stopped for a mountain of food.

The scenery was beautiful and the terrain relatively flat, having someone to share the picturesque travelling with made it all the easier to not take many pictures. Dave and I made camp on the Ottawa side of Alfred a mere 65Km from my childhood home in Ottawa. We pulled off in a little conservation area not quite on the Ottawa River but on one of its many feeder rivers. We camped well eating tuna, bagels, and apples and we made a fire and chatted about some of our previous summer occupations. Dave forest fire fights most summers and we have been over some similar stomping ground with my tree planting back ground. It was definitely not like my nights spent alone on the road but I thoroughly enjoyed the company.

The river was high and things got a little wet on the way into Ottawa.

The river was high and things got a little wet on the way into Ottawa.

We woke up and Dave ambitiously made a fire to get our morning started off right. We knew we didn’t have far to travel and had another amazing day of weather ahead of us. We pulled up in Orleans to get our bearings and refill out water bottles observing other cyclists stream out of the city. We got a little wet on the bike paths next to the Ottawa River and had to navigate some of the residential streets in Orleans to ensure dry passage. Dave and I parted ways, at the National Art Gallery, with a hand shake and a promise to see if we couldn’t make our paths cross again this summer.

Now that I have reached the land of living off my parents I will try and make the most of it and settle in for a little time off. I plan to take a weekend road trip down to Toronto for TUF but leave the bike behind then return to pick it up and keep on riding. I will also use this time to try and tweak and improve my trip and the documenting of it, so if you have any comments or suggestions now would be a good time.

If you are in Ottawa, I am trying to lay financially low, but I would love to grab a drink. I know some lads who produce a lovely moonshine, so if you feel like grabbing a mason jar, that is the J and D advantage.

Je vais dire une au revoir à la belle province. Ma relation avec le Québec n’est jamais facile, il existe des moments durs mais au même temps il y a plusieurs choses que j’adore. La population du Québec est une des plus intéressantes que je n’ai jamais rencontrées dans ma vie. Les gens sont durs mais gentils, et toujours prêt a t’offrir ceux qu’ils ont. Chaque ville possède une certaine “je ne sais quoi” qui donne un gout à retourner et explorer un peu plus. Et le frisbee, vraiment un système unique à soi-même avec plus du monde qui joue en hiver qu’en été. Et un système mixte qui est sur le primere rang de notre pays. Avec toutes mes émotions mêlées envers le Québec soyez pas étonnés si je m’installe ici un jour, mais pas aujourd’hui.

La belle province tu es vraiment la belle province.

Ottawa you are on deck for a little while.

4 thoughts on “The 4 Weeker: 4 semaines 4 provinces

  1. Pingback: Laisser-passer Actif, la Columbia britannique | ArchangelVoyage

  2. Pingback: Île d’Épice Montant | ArchangelVoyage

  3. Pingback: What’s in the bag? A mental and physical inventory | Canadian Ultimate Ride

  4. Pingback: A Bay of Dancing Thunder and The Most Precious Resource to Mankind | Canadian Ultimate Ride

Leave a Reply

